watch brand new sigur rós 'ekki múkk'


After much speculation, Iceland’s Sigur Rós have announced they will return with the release of 6th studio album Valtarion May 28th. Described by the band as “floaty” and “minimal,” it’s a stark contrast from 2008’s ‘commercial’ release Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust and Jónsi’s 2010 solo album Go.

The new album appears to be a reclamation of the album the band were working on prior to taking an indefinite hiatus back in 2010. First look “Ekki Múkk” certainly fits the “floaty” tag, with piano and strings delicately framing Jónsi’s falsetto. With the vinyl crackles, it’s like a digital rip of a long-lost record from another dimension:

Valtari full track list:

  1. Ég Anda
  2. Ekki Múkk
  3. Varúð
  4. Rembihnútur
  5. Dauðalogn
  6. Varðeldur
  7. Valtari

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s