new order covered by errors, s.c.u.m. & more


As previously mentioned, the February issue of UK music monthly Mojo features a cover story on the reunited (without Peter Hook) New Order with a bonus CD of Power Corruption & Lies covered by contemporary electronic acts.

Destroyer’s version of “Leave Me Alone” was the first glimpse, and today cover song blog coverme sourced several more. My favorite might be the huge-sounding take on “5-8-6” by London goth-psych band S.C.U.M.:

Glasgow’s Errors do a lovely, unexpectedly chill version of “The Village”:

The downtempo theme continues with The Golden Filter‘s guitar and bassless take on “Age Of Consent”:

Probably the most dead-on is “Your Silent Face” by Brighton Krautrockers
Fujiya & Miyagi:

The tribute album includes tracks from the Blue Monday single as well, and Zombie Zombie kills it with a spooky cover of “Blue Monday” instrumental “The Beach”:

Order your copy directly from Mojo here.


2 thoughts on “new order covered by errors, s.c.u.m. & more

  1. Elsie

    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your
    blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark
    your website to come back later. All the best

  2. facebook fan page

    I do not even understand how I stopped up right here, however I
    believed this publish was great. I don’t recognize who you are but definitely you are going to a
    famous blogger in case you are not already. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s