kasabian returns with 'switchblade smiles'

I’ll admit it. Back in 2004 I totally bought into Kasabian. I suppose there just wasn’t anything else at the time that satisfied my unspoken desire for keyboards and cock rock.

Since that self titled debut, they’ve produced a couple of other albums that while hugely successful in the UK, didn’t register on my radar.

However, 2009’s West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum did win Q magazine‘s album of the year — for what that’s worth — so Kasabian have brought back producer Dan The Automator to run the controls for the follow up, Velociraptor!

Yes, there is an exclamation point at the end.

The album’s not due out until September, but the band debut the single “Switchblade Smiles” on the Zane Lowe radio show today. It seems the band knows how their bread is buttered and are back to writing “Club Foot” style festival anthems:

Can’t wait to party like it’s 2004. Here’s the full Velociraptor! track list:

  1. Let’s Roll Just Like We Used To
  2. Days Are Forgotten
  3. Goodbye Kiss
  4. La Fée Verte
  5. Velociraptor!
  6. Acid Turkish Bath (Shelter From The Storm)
  7. I Hear Voices
  8. Re-wired
  9. Man Of Simple Pleasures
  10. Switchblade Smiles
  11. Neon Noon

2 thoughts on “kasabian returns with 'switchblade smiles'

  1. Kenn

    I like it, but I've stuck with em. I've always thought they were the angry version of The Rapture.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s