stream 'hellbent' – unreleased new order track

As mentioned earlier this week, the legendary New Order has another best-of collection on the way, Total: From Joy Division To New Order. Due for release June 6 in the UK on Rhino Records, it’s the first commercial release to combine Joy Division and New Order material — see the full tracklist below.

For longtime fans, the only element that piques interest is the inclusion of the previously unreleased New Order song “Hellbent.” It’ll soon be available to stream on the New Order facebook page, but last night it was aired on the Dan Hegarty radio show on Dublin’s RTE 2fm.

As for the song itself, it’s most likely an outtake from the Waiting For The Sirens’ Call sessions. With the exception of Hooky’s signature bass sound, it could easily be a Bad Lieutenant track. It features plenty of latter-day New Order addition Phil Cunningham’s guitar, and as these NO fans point out it also features Barney’s favorite latter-day New Order lyric “whatcha doin.”

That said, I kinda like it. It is New Order, after all:

Here’s the full tracklist for Total: From Joy Division To New Order:

  1. Transmission (Joy Division FAC 13 7” Single)
  2. Love Will Tear Us Apart (Joy Division FAC23 7” Single)
  3. Isolation (Joy Division FAC25 12” Album)
  4. She’s Lost Control (Joy Division FACUS2 12” Single)
  5. Atmosphere (Joy Division SS33002 7” Single)
  6. Ceremony (New Order FAC33 7” Single)
  7. Temptation (New Order FAC63 7” Single)
  8. Blue Monday (New Order FAC73 12” Single)
  9. Thieves Like Us (New Order FAC103 12” Single)
  10. The Perfect Kiss (New Order FAC123 7” Single)
  11. Bizarre Love Triangle (New Order FAC163 7” Single)
  12. True Faith (New Order FAC183 7” Single)
  13. Fine Time (New Order FAC223 7” Single)
  14. World In Motion (New Order FAC293 7” Single)
  15. Regret (New Order NUO1 7” Single)
  16. Crystal (New Order NUOCD8 CD Single)
  17. Krafty (New Order NUOX13 12” Single)
  18. Hellbent (Previously unreleased New Order track)

One thought on “stream 'hellbent' – unreleased new order track

  1. Greg

    Not bad. But if you're talking recent New Order (as recent as you can get) I'll take Jetstream or Waiting for the Siren's Call over Krafty, But that's me. Like you said, everything before Crystal has been released 100 times over.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s