stream austra 'feel it break' in full

Austra is Katie Stelmanis, Dorian Wolf and Maya Postepski, a Canadian electronic trio. But that only starts to tell the story. Stelmanis is also a classically trained pianist, violinist and operatic soprano.

But rather than continue her studies in college, Stelmanis decided to start a band and create her own interpretation of the classical sounds on which she was raised. The result is Feel It Break, Austra’s debut album due out May 17 on Domino.

Apt comparisons have been made to The Knife, and Stelmanis’ otherworldly delivery can be reminiscent of the Cocteau Twins‘ Elizabeth Fraser. But Austra also have a bouyancy unlike most other bands anchored by an etherial female voice. In fact, some of the synth sounds are positively peppy, like early Depeche Mode.

Thanks to NPR, you can stream the album in its entirety and hear what I mean for yourself:

Feel It Break tracklist:

  1. Darken Her Horse
  2. Lose It
  3. The Future
  4. Beat and the Pulse
  5. Spellwork
  6. The Choke
  7. Hate Crime
  8. The Villain
  9. Shoot The Water
  10. The Noise
  11. The Beast

And while you’re here, check out the video for “Lose It.” It’s loosely about spray tans and cat fights, from what I can tell:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s