washed out signed to sub pop, stream 'you and I'

In one glorious moment, “chillwave” has been validated. Iconic indie Sub Pop has signed chillwave royalty Earnest Greene.

Greene is also known as Washed Out, the project that got the whole woozy lo-fi synthpop thing started with EPs Life Of Leisure and High Times.

Sub Pop will release debut album Within And Without on July 12, featuring “You And I” — a collaboration with Chairlift’s Caroline Polachek that appeared on Adult Swim’s Singles Program:

Full disclosure, I love Washed Out. When my child was born, I dorked out and cut a family slideshow to “New Theory” — so count me among those excited by this news.

If you’re nonplussed, watch this fan-made video for “Feel It All Around.” I promise you’ll want to jam Washed Out at all your July pool parties:

Here’s the full tracklist for Within And Without, your future summer soundtrack:

  1. Eyes Be Closed
  2. Echoes
  3. Amor Fati
  4. Soft
  5. Far Away
  6. Before
  7. You and I
  8. Within and Without
  9. A Dedication

One thought on “washed out signed to sub pop, stream 'you and I'

  1. Anonymous

    Gorgeous! I've gone on a Washed Out binge and purchased everything they had on offer. This hit me in the best way possible on an incredibly crappy, cold, un-springlike Michigan evening. Thanks for the introduction.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s